Just bought my first bass...

reflexbc

• Members

Here's my story:

I've been playing drums for about 30+ years, but one of the things that sucks about being a drummer (if you can't write songs) is that, well, you can't write songs.

So, I started getting into keyboards and MIDI and stuff, and then my cousin sold me a guitar...

My plan was to learn keyboards, guitar and bass so that I could use music software to record my own stuff...

I've done pretty well, my keys and guitar chops aren't bad... but the big step was to get into bass.

So what I did was a textbook example of how you should NOT buy equipment, but I did OK (did great actually...)

I went down to my local GC, and basically pointed to a bass on the wall, and said "I want that one."

No research, no nothing. But it's a Fender, and although I didn't want to pay a lot, I wasn't going to stoop as low as getting a Squier (sorry to you Squier fans out there...)

I paid $400.00 for what I thought was a Standard Jazz bass. Actually, what it was was better; it's a Deluxe Active Jazz 4-string in Candy Apple red :cool:

those usually go for like $599.99 (i.e. 600), but it had these tiny flaws in the finish that I can totally live with.

Anyhow, now I am officially a bass-playing person.

The first thing I thought was "These strings are frickin' HUGE..." and like "How am I going to stretch my fretting fingers wide enough..." But now I'm diggin' it...

Anyway, enough about ME... ;)

• Members

Answers to questions: