Bass for a nice kid.

valentsgrif

• Members

My Guitar Hero playing oldest son, a decent piano student, now wants to try bass guitar. I don't know anything about bass, but my expierence with the 6 string guitar tells me that its easier to learn on an instrument that fits, is comfortable and has a good feel.

He is 15 years old, of average size and is ok with a lower priced instrument ($299 or under) or used. I would think he'd be best served with something on the lighter side, and perhaps a short scale.......but I could be wrong. What you think?

• Members

Dunno. I started playing bass at around age 13. I was maybe 6' tall and 145 lbs. tops. I started off on a full-scale (34") bass. There's no compelling reason to start off on a short-scale instrument unless you're dealing with someone exceptionally small for their age.

I would just pick up a Fender Precision or Fender Jazz type bass. Look into SX (from RondoMusic.com) and the Squier Vintage Modified series. If you're willing to go used, a Made in Mexico ("MIM") or Crafted in Japan ("CIJ") Fender is tough to beat for the money. I would also seriously consider a used G&L Tribute if you can find one in the ~$300 range.

• Members

Whats the difference between a Jazz or a Precision as far as weight and neck size/width/radius?

They both have the same scale and similar hardware. The Jazz neck is slimmer in both dimensions (front-to-back and side-to-side). The Precision neck is thicker and on the chunky side. The Jazz neck feels much more delicate in the hands. The Jazz body is a bit more ergonomic in my hands.

As for sounds, the Precision will give you that classic, "thumpy" rock'n'roll sound. The Jazz will give you a more snappy, nasal, "twangy" sound many people associate with funk. The Jazz is a bit more versatile, whereas the Precision is more of a one-trick-pony...but it's a good trick that works in most contexts.

Really, it's down to personal preference. You can't go wrong either way.

• Members