got me another bass!!

SelenaBassGirl

• Members

my third one! It is an Ibanez GSR200. I won it off of eBay and what ticks me off is that the seller didn't tell me that one of the tuning keys was missing. The photo is so small and the way he had the others set, you couldn't tell. It didn't say anything in the description about a missing tuning key. He just said that it was in excellent condition. It is still a beauty and I know that it can be fixed. However, when I went to a local music store, all the ones they had was either too tight or too loose. :mad: I am supposed to call tomorrow to see how much it will cost for the store to order me a set (gotta buy a whole set now) from Ibanez. He is gonna call them for me. I went hunting myself on the internet but I can't seem to find ones that say it is for the Ibanez GSR200 and when I did find some on the site, they offered no photos or prices but codes that I had NO idea. I am still learning the "technical" stuff with the bass..:freak: Does anyone know about how much these are gonna run me? And where can I order them from that will fit my bass and where I can just buy ONE? It is just the key missing..do you have to buy the whole machine head????

sorry for ramblin! :blah:

• Members

What you probably need is a Jin Ho. These are Korean-made tuners that come standard on a lot of instruments. Even my Reverend has them!

If you don't want to go with one of those, I stuck a Gotoh off of StewMac on my Rev when one tuner broke and it fit perfectly.

Yeah, pretty much any of those sealed tuners will work, including Grovers, Schallers, or Wilkinsons(sp?) - the thing to look for is whether it's a bass or treble tuner(side of the neck), and the orientation of the mounting screw - some are straight down, others come off at an angle... I'd just scrounge up a single replacement, rather than buy a whole set for that bass - unless some of them weren't in good working order...