Praise and Worship music?

mlwarriner

• Members

OK, so the associate pastor at our church wants to start a contemporary praise and worship band. And she found out that I'm a bassist (I believe through my wife). So now she (the associate pastor) wants me to be in on the starting up of said praise and worship band.

I'm totally unaware of any of the details, but she did give me a CD of songs that she likes, and that she'd like to shoot toward as far as the sound of the band. The CD is Hymnmorphosis by Revolution?

Anyhow - can anyone here suggest other bands that I might want to look into? From the disc she gave me, I'm guessing she wants something rockish without being too poppy or metal. Something that would appeal to a fairly broad range of people, and especially college students (we've got a very active student ministry with the college across the street).

Also - I'm not sure what the gear situation is going to be either. If they ask me to "outfit" the bass section of the band - how much amp is going to be enough? I'm thinking something around 100 to 200 watts, in a combo of some kind. We're a big church, but not huge. And I'm not entirely sure which sanctuary we're going to have the contemp. service in. I don't want to haul my own stuff in and out every week or so, but I will if I have to. I'd much rather set the church up with something of their own, and use it while I'm there.

• Members

I've got quite a bit of worship songs in my library back home I'll post some artists and songs later.

You'll want to get used to charts if you join a CC Praise group/team.

+1.

Check out the lists air1.com too for current stuff, it's one of the nations largest christian radio stations.

• Members

At the church I play at we use a Peavey single 15" combo - one of the keyboard ones - for both bass and V-drums. It's entirely adequate.

They do run everything through the house, but it's all about the singers, so you don't need much.

• Members