Getting more punch out of bass by itself

DeathByGuitar

• Members

I've been playing guitar for years, but I'm kind of new to bass so I'll ask this question in hopes of not being flamed to death for being a n00b.

My bassist has an Ibanez SR405 that just doesn't sound quite right whenever it's played. Even when playing it without an amp, the lower 2 strings sound dull and lifeless, lacking any sort of convincing punch. I've tried fiddling with EQ on the amp and bass itself for ages, but I think this issue is coming directly from the instrument.

My question is, are there any common reasons why a decent midrange bass would sound this dull without amplification? Could it have something to do with the string selection (regular vs taperwound) or something like that? I know allot of it is in amp tone, but the bass itself sounds just dull compared to literally any other bass I've played (even cheaper ones).Surely there has to be something I'm overlooking. The 2 lower strings are slightly larger than the grooves in the saddles which i suspect may have something to do with it but I just don't know.

Please don't laugh at me :p Thanks in advance

• Members

You're never going to get awesome unplugged tone from a low B string, and in many cases, even when you plug it in.

Perhaps the body wood isn't as resonant as other basses, it's really hard to say.

Are you tuned to standard E, or are you playing in drop tunings? That will make a difference as well.

C7

• Members

It could be a number of things. Off the top of my head, dead strings seem like the most likely culprit.

Does he use roundwounds? When was the last time he changed them?

Could you also specify more what you mean by "punch?" What, in terms of frequency, attack, tone, etc., is lacking?

• Members

It could be a number of things. Off the top of my head, dead strings seem like the most likely culprit.

Does he use roundwounds? When was the last time he changed them?