What brand strings do you use?

HumanElement

• Members

I've been playing DR Hi-Beams for around 10 years. I love them, they last a very long time. But locally they have had a bit of a price jump lately. The 45-105's are around $38 & the 50-110's are $40-$42.

I'm looking for a more affordable substitute. So, my question is:

What you all playing/paying/time of tones are you getting?:blah:

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

D'Addario Prosteels when I can get 'em.

D'Addario Nickels when I can't. If I were to buy flats, it'd be D'Addario Chromes.

They've been great to me as a company and they're readily available at both of my not-{censored}ty local shops. 20 dollars a pop for either set.

I used to get GHS at wal-mart for like 11 something, after tax. I hate them though.

• Members

AMS sells a 3 pack for 24.99. 19.99 for lighter strings.

Yeah. I know. That's why it's crazy for them to be 25 a pop at that store. :p I like the hartke strings. They remind me of D'Addarios a lot. They seem to have a little more top end to me though. Almost like a SS round.

• Members

My Yammy Attitude has the signature .110-.043 Rotosounds, steel, cost around $20 and so far I like them ok. Everything else I own has nickels on them, either Rotosounds, Ernie Ball Hybrid Slinkies (around 18 bucks I think) or I just started trying out Snarling Dogs at under 12 bucks a set, nickels, all strings .105-.045. The SD's are good so far, nothing horrible at all about them. We'll see how long they go before death.

I just can't afford putting spendy strings on right now, so I'll be doing Snarling Dogs unless things change. They're ok, and don't cost so bad. I order them online at www.juststrings.com.

• Members

I'd love to have the money to buy DR's or Blue steels, but I don't.

I use the Hartke 3pack strings. $24 for 3 sets. They last long, sound great and to my ears get about 90% of DR's sound.