Looking For An Economical Bass

Relayer71

• Members

Been playing guitar on and off for years and recently been itching to play bass. Actually played one for a couple of years back in the 90s so not a complete beginner but still don't consider myself a bassist.

Surprised at how much prices have gone up (been out of the loop for a while). Seems the standard Fenders cost almost as much as the American Standards did last time I checked!

$600 is a bit pricey considering I'm not in a band or gigging atm not to mention everytime I get one of these "itches" my wife has a fit (my fault really, I keep buying stuff I hardly use, lol).

My question: Are Squiers decent basses??? From what I've read recently seems like the quality is much better on Fender's Squier line for both guitars and basses than it used to be.

Being a Tele guy, I sort of had my eye on this one...

http://www.guitarcenter.com/Squier-by-Fender-Vintage-Modified-Precision-Bass-TB-519758-i1276125.gc

But also this Jazz Bass...

http://www.guitarcenter.com/Squier-by-Fender-Vintage-Modified-Jazz-Bass-103726584-i1166457.gc

Any of you real bassists have any experience with these? I've always stayed away from budget guitars and the Bass I previously had was an American made P-Bass. I know on Teles/Strats I used to be able to FEEL the difference between the American made and the Made In Mexico/Japan.

Not too worried about phenomenal sound at this price, I can always replace the pickups later, I know they tend to go cheap with electronics at these prices. Just worried about how they feel overall, intonation, stability. I could go to a store and try one out but not the same as owning one so if anyone has one, please comment.

And is Agathis a good tone wood? Don't think I've heard of this wood before for a guitar either.