Light but loud bass amp recommandations please !

The Unknown

• Members

Hi !

I've been thinking about replacing one of my amps... For your reading pleasure, I've separated the following in two sections... you can skip the first if you like... but it explains alot of what you read in the second.

Context

I'm a long time Ampeg SVT user and really love that amp. I used to play with it in my band. I will always keep that amp, eventhough I use it at home only now...

When I split from my band, I started playing with different people, at different places. I needed an amp that would actually fit in my car. So I got a good deal on a used Ampeg B2 1x15 combo. I've been carrying that one for a while but it's pretty heavy, and I prefer 10 inch or 12 inch speakers to 15s. It sounds decent, though, and it's loud enough with a drummer.

To play at home, I use a SansAmp RBI plugged into a mixer. The SansAmp is OK, but it gets noisy at some settings... a good tube emulation but still not like the real thing.

The real question

So I'm thinking about selling the Ampeg B2 1x15 combo for something at least as loud, but not more then 2/3 of it's weight... with 10 or 12 inch speaker(s). I would find it convenient that the replacement amp as a tube preamp, with an XLR out, so I could use it through a mixer, as a DI... which would allow me to sell the SansAmp RBI.

I don't wanna be disapointed in terms of sound, though... keep in mind I'm an old SVT guy.

Any suggestions on amps I should take a look at ?

• Members

What cab were you pushing with that behemoth SVT?

Will a 110 or 112 be enough?

I mean you could put like a Mesa Walkabout into an 810 and it'd be awesome, but I'm dunno if that small of speaker area would be enough.

• Members

The Roland DB combos are awesome.

Fender has a couple of 2x10 combos Bassman and Rumble. I'd probably go with the Bassman.

I don't have any experience with the new Line6 bass combos, but I've heard good things from people.

• Members