Seeking basic advice to buy my first bass guitar

Li Shenron

• Members

Hello all,

I am a guitarist who knows very little about bass guitars. In a few weeks or couple of months at most, I will be buying a very cheap bass (let's say up to 200e) for the purpose of filling the vacant spot of bass player in my band and record low-quality demos of our compositions directly into some kind of home recording equipment (read: a mean laptop or desktop :p ).

What I am going to do is visit a few of the music stores downtown and check out personally all bass guitars in my limited price range. I will rely on my ears to guess which of them sound decent enough, and on my hands to check for comfort/discomfort in the bass' fretboard and body shape.

However, I'd like to know from you bassists what else should I keep an eye open for, to be sure I don't regret the purchase later. Things like common defects to check or construction weaknesses that may make playing harder or uncomfortable later for example, or may result in sound problems or even breakage. When buying a guitar I have my own things to check out, particularly in the bridge system but also on the fretboard, but I wonder what you guys would mostly check in a bass. Anything that you generally believe could make you unsatisfied later, except the general "sound" of it which is obviously something I won't forget to check ;) but at the same time I assume can't be the particularly beautiful due to the limited budget.

Thanks for any tip you want to share :wave:

BTW, I am still undecided even between p-bass and j-bass, I have to understand the sound difference first.

• Members

Hello all,