Another "What would you do" question.

ckcondon

• Members

A bit of a vent...

I've been playing bands for many years and have a pretty good understanding of the various dynamics of different personalities coming together in a band situation. Sometimes you have to accept certain things that are less than ideal for the sake of the band.

I started my current band about five years ago with a couple of friends who are very talented players. It's always been part-time and we only gig about one weekend per month. We played a a 3-piece for a while before deciding to add another guitarist. The band kept evolving and gaining local status and better gigs.

As time went by, we had some turnover in players due to people moving away, having babies etc. I'm now the only original member and have managed to keep things rolling along. It helps that I own all the PA, trailer, lights, do all the booking, manage the website... You get the picture.

Here's where it gets interesting. We have 2 guys who are really solid players, but have issues with gear. Both have kids and not much extra income. We have already bought a Marshall half-stack for the guitarist and he's only paid about $100 on it in a year. The bass player has blown up his SWR rig and is now playing through a Crate combo that was given to my by a friend. He says he's going to get a bass POD, but I'm hesitant to have him play through the monitors exclusively since it can muddy up the sound for the singer.

Neither of them really bring anyone to the shows, and our fan base has dropped off over the past year.

I see them as being a little jaded and don't really get excited about shows like myself and the singer. We work hard to sound good and I am a strong believer in "Performing" as opposed to just "Playing". Each show is a big deal, and I give it my all to entertain the audience. Showing up in the same clothes I went fishing in is not an option if you know what I mean!