What do Drummers (Band Members in General) Have Against Doing Covers ???

• Members

I just started out with this new band. We've only played out twice, and we're just doing some covers, and jamming out to get a good rapport together, before we can get some original work going.

The drummer just seems disinterested in doing covers, and just doesn't get the point. Lots of bands started out playing covers.

Anyway, am I missing something here?

• Members

No youre not missing a thing.....Covers arent for everybody: a lot of musicians take it as an attack on their artistic soul...

Theres no right or wrong here: just opposing viewpoints..

If I had to pick a side, Im on yours but, then again, I play covers for a living, to put food in my daughter's mouth, and to pay my bills...........

• Members

Here we go again. Release the hounds!

This argument has been going on forever... :deadhorse:

Look, it's pretty simple:

1. You can play covers, get paid, play all night have a pretty good crowd. The negatives are that you have to play songs people like. Not necessarily all the cheesy stuff, but "hit" songs in general.

2. Covers with some originals thrown in. Same as above if you have "commercial" sounding songs that blend well with your covers. Death metal doesn't go over with a pop/rock crowd!

3. Go all original and follow your muse. Write your songs, play gigs at clubs with multiple band lineups for little $$ and small crowds (unless you play with well-established acts). Build a following, sell CD's, tour the country in a van until the labels can't ignore you and sign you to a lucrative deal which slingshots you to the top of the charts.