Band politics and what to do about it.

dfibraio

• Members

I could use some nonbiased advice. IN order to understand my situation, let me try to sum everything up as succinctly as I can. Sadly, this may be a long post, so try to bear with me, but everything is needed to understand my current situation. i will not name the band I am currently in or any other bands to protect them, not that you'd know them anyway, but just in case.

Firstly, some background on me. I am almost 35 years old. Been a keyboard player and bvocalist for 30 or so of those years. I started playing in bands at about 14, or so. I am totally blind. I began playing and getting paid in rock bands at 19. Being blind, one has to rely on others for transportation where I live in central New Jersey. I have gone from one half assed band to another without getting very far. I seem to have the knack for drawing a lot of attention to myself in any band I play in due to my blindness, but also due to the fact that I have spent a lot of time on my technique and skill. I am mostly self taught, but over time I have learned to play very complex music like Dream Theater, even playing in a QueensRyche tribute band simulating second guitar. I suppose it is hard not to notice that. I am probably the anal retentive perfectionist in the band, typically relating to my parts. I spend a lot of time sampling stuff from CD if I can't recreate it myself, putting all my sounds in order and making sure I can play through practice or any set without too much of a hitch. This is because, since I cannot see the screen of my gear, I have to rely on organization and memory. Since I also am slave to what vehicle the driver, usually other people in the band, drives, I have to not allow my gear to spiral into Rick Wakeman multikeyboard setups. I try to stay to 2 keyboards. My drummer from my current band stores a bunch of my auxiliary gear at his house, mainly stands, speakers and extra pedals, to make the transportation easier. Cu