Intro & request your thoughts: Did I do the right thing?

Roxtar40

• Members

Greetings! Been in the cover band and solo artist scene for maybe 5 years (I'm a vocalist/front man and guitarist). It's nice to read a forum where people have experienced all the ups and downs I have and everyone is supportive of one another. I can't tell you how many other places I've been where you mention "cover" and get ripped to shreds.

My question to you based on your experiences or opinion. Over the summer I stepped down from my band. It had become work; I have sciatica so it was painful standing for 4 hours a night; and I'm no spring chicken. I just turned 45 and have 3 teens at home and one in college. Getting in at 3AM and up at 7AM for a baseball game was not helping my sanity. I immediately went solo doing unplugged rock and power pop songs. I never had to shop for gigs; they came to me. Once or twice a month was my goal, and the money was much better than our band experience.

Last month (October), I was scheduled to play a local hotel lounge for 3 hours for $150 guarantee. I did this same gig in August and came out with $200 free and clear including tips. I run my own PA, so I have no overhead costs. I have a good relationship with the couple that own/manage the bar. The night of the gig, I had the van loaded and ready to roll but we were getting a freaky fall storm here in Ohio. It was torrential rain, flooded streets, etc. So I phoned the bar and spoke to the owner about whether he considered it a good night for a gig. He said the crowd was extremely light (Wednesday night) due to the weather...I said I didn't want to take his money to play to an empty house. It felt like we both agreed to do each other a favor and not have the live music that night.