Anyone play bass with their feet?

Jayesskerr

• Members

Using real bass or some such thing like a midi pedal or something?

I'm seriously looking into one of these; http://www.keithmcmillen.com/12step/overview

But if someone else has something they use, please let me know. I like playing with a real drummer, and I can't always find a bassist, so I started playing my Boss DR880 with my feet. Trouble is... the pads are too damn small, makes it hard to play with shoes on...

• Members

I learned to play the organ when I was a kid, so I could probably work with this thing. Since I do country stuff with a lot of simply 1-5 bass lines, it would be perfect. And the price isn't too bad. Hmm....

But how about the sound? If it emulates an acoustic, that would be great. But if it's synthy...not so much.

• Members

Tried to play the organ pedals a few times, not at all easy - at least for me.

A long ago I saw a country artist using bass pedals, sounded really good coupled with his drum machine.

I currently know a solo artist in town that plays bass pedals. He's mainly blues and such. IIRC his pedals look like portable B3 pedals. Seems to work well for him.

I guess the one thing is that most of the guys I've seen playing bass pedals prefer or need to sit down.

• Members

Use a set of Moog Taurus pedals, along w/ a digital derum machine at some gigs...it's ok for what it is, but keeping it all together (vocals, guitar, racked harmonica, bass pedals, drum triggers) does take concentration...and it's a lot to haul to a gig.

MoogTarus1.jpg

Prefer the Fender-Rhodes version, but they're pretty rare:

2833702930_81ff7684fe.jpg

One of these. the MTI Auto-Orchestra, is a touch cooler, but even harder to find:

!Bc27cBQCGk~$(KGrHqUH-CcEqv,bI5wTBK2()eH

• Members