construction of backing tracks

steve mac

• Members

I realise that this has been touched on in other threads and I have been through them but remain a bit confused re the following (oh and please I am a total novice at BTs so not too complicated a reply would be appreciated)

What I am trying to achieve is after a first acoustic set (whilst people are eating etc) I would like to have a second set with more of a dance flavor. Therefore I was hoping to achieve this with the addition of some backing music.

I have considered using a looper, but as others have mentioned, the first time you see it, it is novel but I couldn't go through that for every song when the object is to seamlessly keep people on their feet, even if I had the skills to make the loop in the first place.

Then following a recent thread I considered a drum machine but having had a quick go using the drum functionality on my Zoom have abandoned that as half way through the first song I was bored with the continuous unchanging beat.

Which leaves my with (unless someone could suggest anything else) Backing Tracks and specifically their creation.

Do you buy them if so where from?

I only really want drums and bass, so if you buy them can you leave out things

you don't want?

If you create them, well I could do the backing vocals and lead guitar but I wouldn't have a clue how to add drums or a bass line, so is everyone who creates them experts in other instruments?

As always any and all help gratefully received and apologies if some of the questions are a bit obvious but like I said this is a whole new world to me.

All the best

Steve

• Members