Guy in crowd suggests: "I've been playing in bands for over 20 years...

• Members

Not sure if you are asking whether you are looking for confirmation you were not rude. (You could have been, depending on your tone of voice.)

Alternate response: Different people have different preferences for tonal balance. Thanks for your input.

That said, I can't tell you how many people DJs as well as bands, do in fact have awful balance of sound. Too much bass. No treble or ear-slitting sizzle. Sometimes I get a chance to look at their EQ. The bands often look like a chart of the stock market recently. I don't know what they're using to choose how to EQ a room but my guess is that, unless you have real objective reason to set EQ different than simply flat, flat is better.

• Members

I've been eating hot dogs for over 40 years and this one needs more mustard. It's all about taste and preference. In a club, you shoot to please as many as possible understanding you'll have some fringe dwellers who want gut wrenching bass or bright piercing treble.....me I'll take extra low end!

• Members

You could reply with, "If I want your opinion I'll beat it out of you."

Or

"Say, aren't you the lead guitarist from Mike Miller's band?"

Or

"Treble? I've been looking all over my console for the treble knob. I guess it doesn't have one!"

Or

"I'm donating my treble frequencies to the Katrina relief fund."

Or

"Twenty years, huh? You must have gotten high a lot!"

• Members