PA speaker for amplification of PODs?

• Members

Hi all, I don't think I've ever posted on this forum before. I'm mostly a studio rat.

But recently I've come back into contact with some old friends who might be looking to jam. In my studio I record direct with e-drums and POD's (a PODxt and bass POD). It's in an apartment, you know how it is. I don't own anything that can keep up with a drum set, amplification wise (actually I don't even own any conventional amplification except for my power amp and monitors). And seeing as how one of my friends has $4000 invested in his very nice Yamaha set with Sabian hand hammered cymbals all around, I can understand him wanting to hear it in the context of a band.

So I was thinking of getting some kind of PA type setup to amplify my bass POD. It seems it would be cheaper than getting a bass amp that could keep up and more versatile, as I could also use it for my guitar PODxt should the occasion arise.

I admit I'm not very experienced with this stuff. So I'm looking for recommendations for a speaker and power amp (or active speaker) on a budget that will adequately amplify bass guitar and keep up with a hard hitting drummer.

Budget for speaker is as low as possible, max about $300. Amp around $300-$350, I may be able to split part of that cost with the guitarist should he choose to use one of the channels as part of his rig. Active would be around $450 max.

Bear in mind this is just to play in a room and keep up with the acoustic set. That's the only requirement. This won't most likely be used as an actual PA.

Thanks in advance for any thoughts. :wave:

• Members

Originally posted by Mind Riot

This won't most likely be used as an actual PA.

Um, if you don't plan on using it for anything but a bass amp, why not just buy a bass amp? Seems to make more sense to me...