How to wire an eq, effects unit, compressor, and crossover?

• Members

I've been adding signal processors to my rack so that I will be in shape to run live sound for bar bands. I'm still learning, and I've been advised to get an effects processor, compressor, and crossover. I know the basic functions of these units, but I need to learn how to use them effectively (I've been studying the owner's manuals). With all these signal processors in the path, everything has become much more complicated and I am thoroughly confused. I need to know the order to wire the signal processors in, and/or if I should patch only particular channels to a signal processor. (If I didn't want to add reverb to the whole mix, but just to the vocals)

Here's what I've recently bought:

2 Behringer GEQ3102 dual 31-band graphic equalizers

1 Alesis 3630 dual-channel compressor/limiter/gate

1 Yorkville EPM508 crossover

1 Alesis Midiverb II effects processor

I plan to just use light effects on the vocals, and probably some light compression on the bass, drums, and vocals. For the crossover, I need two channels: one for the mains/monitors at about 60Hz and above, and one for the subs at around 90Hz and below. I'm not sure how this will work, though, because I am using two separate amps. One side of the Yamaha amp is feeding a pair of 15" FOH speakers, and the other side is feeding a pair of 18" subs. The Mackie is used solely for monitors.

I'm uncertain about the EQ's, also. Each EQ can be run in dual mono mode so that I can in effect have 4 31-band graphic EQ's. I would need one band for the 15" FOH speakers and if possible one band for each of the floor monitors. The subs don't need EQ, do they?

I know this is kind of vague, but please ask me for specifics and I'll help out as much as I can.

• Members

I'll give this the first crack starting with the universal rules and basics.