Sax Transposition question

• Members

I'm a guitar/bass player and I understand what it means that a horn is in Bb or Eb.

I'm thinking about trying to learn saxophone, but I don't read music. I've started several times to try reading on guitar, on bass, on piano, even drums, but I don't have the discipline to stick with it.

My question: if i'll be learning on my own, say on an alto sax, and not learning to read music, just to play notes/scales/phrases, could I just learn the fingering "in C" - meaning that instead of thinking of the Alto-sax "C" as "C" I'll actually think of it as Eb, or is this counter-productive?

Are tunes in "rock keys" (C, A, E) difficult for horns because of transposition or also difficult to finger/play?

For example: if I want to play some simple rhythmic riffs from Rock Around the Clock (in A?) is it going to be much harder to PLAY (not read) than in Bb or whatever horn-friendly key?

• Members

I'm a saxophonist/music teacher:

Guitar/Bass Key Tenor sax Alto/Bari

C = D A

E = F# C#

A = B F#

Although I play in all 12 keys, the easiest ones for sax to learn (fingerings, etc.)

are:

Guitar/Bass Key Tenor sax Alto/Bari

Bb = C G

F = G D

Eb = F C

Mike M

• Members

I see, thanks, Mike.

So, if my interest in the sax is "superficial" (at least at first) - if I want to figure out just a few tunes, be able to play some backing phrases... is that doable?

I wonder if my being a guitarist (and being used to the standard C scale) will be a distraction? I'll have to transpose every note - I don't play "by ear", so I'll always have the guitar fretboard in my head. My head... already hurts :eek::lol:

• Members

MikeM, another question: I've read that the alto sax is typically the "1st" instrument (to begin on) and they're easier to get cheap, but is it physically/musically harder (more difficult) to begin on a tenor (for someone with no horn experience whatsoever)? Tenor just seems ... cooler? :D

• Members