Guide to using FX

• Members

I do acoustic/vocal solo or duets generally 3-4 nights per week anything ranging from Country, Classic Rock, Blues, and some new Rock mixed in. I have to run sound myself from behind my mains, which is not easy but I think I do ok. I'm pretty good at EQing everything early on, but I'm still learning what FX sound better in certain situations and I would love any input you all might have.

Here's what Im running:

Soundcraft EFX8

2 JBL PRX512M's

1 TC Helicon VSM300 XT

EV ND767A Mic

AT MB4K Mic

Gibson Songwriter Deluxe Acoustic Electric

Radial JDI Passive DI Box

I usually rotate between one of four different FX:

Large Hall Reverb

Room Reverb

Arena Reverb

Reverb/Short Delay

When I'm indoors and a smaller venue, I stick to reverb and try not to get too wet to keep from muddying things up. When I'm outdoors, I add the delay in and wetten up the sound a little. Since I am just running Acoustic Guitar and vocals, I keep the guitar fx a littled dryer.

Again, I think I do an OK job with my sound considering my situation. But I would appreciate any constructive criticism that you can provide.

Thanks,

Anthony

• Members

Less is more.

Consider the room, a live room will benefit from less effects.

Consider the effects in context with the environment. A lot of effects, especially big lus long effects outdoors is often unbelievable, out of place and calls attention to itself as being "just not quite right".

• Members

Good point. I try not to overdo it. I generally start with the factory preset settings and go from there. Problem is that some of the presets are a little too much for me. I know exactly what you mean about calling too much attention. Especially with delay, I tend to shorten the delay time so its not so obvious.

Should I just try to stick with room or hall reverb outdoors?

• Members

I'm a "less is more" fan as well, especially for reverb and delay.