Best method/books for learning music theory?

• Members

Well, I've been playing for about 8 years now, and I feel that I'm at a point where not knowing music theory is holding me back. Or looking at it another way, I think learning theory could help me in some ways when writing songs.

I've tried to learn theory a couple times, but I easily grew frustrated and gave up. It does not come easy to me, but I am prepared to really learn it this time. So, I was wondering if there was a particularly good method/book for dummies like me that you all could recommend? I feel like something that's like a textbook, that maybe has quizzes/problems or something to force you learn the material before moving onto a new topic, if that makes sense. Something that helps you chart your progress. Thanks!

• Members

I recommend Mike Hoffman's book "Serious Guitar". Here's his website: http://www.seriousguitar.com/

He does have "quizzes" and practicing-type homework per chapter.

For me, this book answered all my questions about keys and modes, and goes a long way toward providing guidance in how to "choose correct notes" from scales when soloing, vs. playing a scale blindly. He even provides recommended books for those wanting to develop their phrasing further after they understand how scales and keys work and interrelate.

• Members

if you know basic theory on the piano, you know advanced theory on the guitar.

i learned how to play the piano first, and it makes a whole lot more sense when it's laid out on a keyboard. scales, modes, chord construction is all VERY intuitive.

from there, all you have to do is learn the note names on the guitar and apply what you've learned.

• Members

Awesome, thanks. I'll check both of those out.

Any other books/websites that have "homework"? I feel like that's the best way for me to learn it- approach it like a class.

You said you write songs, so you could use your own songs as homework.