Playing by Ear/ ear training and my situation

• Members

I'm in a frustrating situation in that i can play pretty much anything i want, but my ear is extremely novice. from the from the very beginning i dived in somewhat complex material and always was able to progress my skills. Issue is i always used tabs and now i have a serious imbalance where i'd struggle to pick up the easiest stuff by ear and would be completely lost when figuring normal stuff i listen to or play

I wish i would've done things the way the old timers did where you build your ear and skills at the same time by being forced to listen to learn new stuff instead of tabs. Any comments or words of advice?

• Moderators

It sounds to me like you just answered your own question. What was it that the "old timers" did to develop their ears? Are you familiar with "The Stupid Song Game"? It's about learning to play dirt simple melodies all over the neck in various positions, keys and fingerings. Related exercises involve arpeggios or scales around the cycle of 5th. One of my current favorites is to play the diminished pentatonic scale (1 b3 b5 b6 b7) as eight notes in 12/8, with 2-notes per string while changing chords every measure. It's proven to be quite the workout for my ears, hands and brain.

cheers,

• Members

Yep, just get started!..get "Transcribe!" or whatever you prefer, pick a simple song you like and get to work!..now if you already know how to play a lot of the simpler songs we might suggest starting with (anything from the first 4 or 5 Sabbath albums if you're a metal guy)...maybe try something like the live album version of something like "Victim of Changes" by Judas Priest..technically simple enough riffs and solo's but learning the intro harmony guitar part will give your ears something to work on for sure.

• Members

I agree with all the above.