What To Do?

• Members

Been a while since I've been on the board, nice to be back.

So, long story short, I've been playing for seven years, had a couple of dreadful teachers, many bouts with tendinitis which may or may not had been caused by bad posture, and all in all, I'm a far cry from where I'd like to be as far as playing guitar goes.

Sadly getting a teacher right now is impossible, so that leaves me with just myself, the guitar, and the internet: Meaning you folks. After seven years I really feel like I'm doing a lot wrong. What advice do you have? Should I start as if from scratch, or try to build from the shaky foundations I already have? Any good links? The lesson loft thread has a hell of a lot of material, but it's too much to swallow and organize coherently. I guess I'm looking for a guide, a straight and simple to understand road from where I currently am to where I wanna be on guitar. Any pointers?

• Members

Hello!..what do you actually want to do?..play in a band?..write your own songs?..where are you actually at right now technically?..have you got any clips we can listen to that might help gauge what areas you might need to work on?. Judging by your avatar..can you make a reasonable go of the solo in "Highway Star"?..that would tell me something about your level!. :)

Lots of questions rather than answers, sorry! :lol:

• Members

I used to have carpal tunnel real bad and it was getting painful to play guitar. I backed off on the playing and when I did play I took vitamin B6 supplements. Gradually my body has repaired itself .
As for the rest -if you give more specific questions youll get more specific answers!

• Members

Thanks for the replies. I do see now that I didn't really specify much.