anyone ever change instrements in a band?(i.e. bass to guitar?)

• Members

I am moving to drums!!! I am a decent drummer and since we couldn't find one I am it. We translated alot of songs to 1 guitar, found a new bass player *I think* and we are gonna get the ball rolling again. I hate to have bought so much cool guitar stuff, but I am sure I will use it all again. I am even buying an electronic drum set to practice w/ and get back in the groove. Anyone else have to do this? I know a friend who moved to bass after not ebing able to find a bassist.

• Members

Originally posted by UnkleSlam

I started out on bass in my teens then later switched to guitar, within the same band.

Its great within the same band. Since I already know the songs by heart they were so easy for me to pick up. The hard part, I am finding, is making the drum parts my own as opposed to copying my old drummer.

• Members

Been a guitarist/singer almost all of my professional music career (retired these past 18 years). Switched to bass to get into one cover band that seemed to be making some bucks, and they chucked me out after one gig . :p:thu:

• Members

I played drums for an already-established punk band when I was between bands. I only joined because I wanted a drum set to practice on and I missed playing shows. It was annoying having to listen to a guitarist and singer who didn't have a clue what they were doing. I lost interest quickly.

• Members
Originally posted by Eddie

The bass player in one of my former bands started as our drummer.

For the last song of the set, he played drums, the drummer played guitar, and I played bass
:D

My old band I joined my drummer on our last song. It always got the crowed pumped. I also recorded one of our songs on drums. It was a good thing too because in all honesty, I was a bit better then him :)

• Members

Originally posted by Fingermush

I play musical chairs, with instruments. Execpt for Drums, I suck at drums.