Intel Macs and audio sequencers with ReWire

JustinThyme

• Members

I am a recent convert to Macs.....got a 13" MacBook. Overall, I like it.

But here's my dilemma. I really like Reasons MIDI sequencing and it's built in tools. Yet, being a guitarist, I have a need to add audio to my creations. So I'm looking for an audio sequencer to use with Reason via ReWire, and needs to be compatible with the Intel Macs.

I don't need extravagant audio features....probably don't need to have more than 16 tracks (and could probably live with 8), and don't need to record more than 1 stereo signal at a time.

Additionally, I'm looking for a very inexpensive setup.....about $100 or less. I can live with using the onboard audio I/O in the short term.

Here's my options as I see it now.....

- GarageBand - Comes with the Mac. Frankly, not thrilled with how it works workflow wise, and even with 1.25GB RAM, after importing a 12 track MIDI file, I get memory warnings. Also, I have yet to be able to get Reason to play back through it, but that's probably just a learning issue.

- Metro SE or Intuem 4 - I have the demo's, but I'm not familiar with them. Has anyone used these?

- Upgrade my MBox with Pro Tools LE 7 - It appears I can reuse my MBox audio interface if I get the Upgrade. But it's more complex than I need, and I'd be a bit concerned about overhead of running the with Reason on my system.

- Export Reason tune to audio, and put that in non-ReWire audio sequencer of choice (Audacity ?) - Obviously, I would prefer the flexibility to have the Reason stuff live, so I can adjust levels and balance and such. But I guess I could do this in a pinch.

Any other ideas out there?

Spending the bucks on Logic Express or Ableton Live are out of the question.