help out a noob.

jeremylp

• Members

I've been playing guitar for about 2 years and never bought a single pedal.

I've recently went go a concert and saw that almost every guitarist had a huge pedal collection.

If I wanted to start using pedals, would it better and cheaper to use multi like pod or just buy single pedals

And if there are any pod x3 users, how is it

Thanks to everyone who looked.

• Members

It all depends on your music needs. IMO, if you're happy with your amp's distortion you should first get a delay pedal or one that is capable of looping.

Getting a cheap multi FX pedal would be OK to see what effects you'd actually use, and go from there. Never used the new Pod, I always thought they were overpriced.

• Members

IMHO, your best bet would be to by a multi-effects unit to have a proper initiation into the realm of effects.

Individual pedals sound better IMHO. Once you discover what are your preferences, you will know what pedals to buy and which ones you don't want/need.

Best of luck,

y

• Members

buy a used/new multi-fx like a zoom Gt2. Digitech RP150,250 supposedly sound decent. Vox tonelab LE also sounds good but might be overkill. It is important to know whether you have a good amp and/or like the distortion sound from your amp, because most multi-fx have mediocre distortion at best.

• Members

^^agreed

I've recently started moving over to single effects...I had an RP-200, it did what I needed it to do, and if there's ever a pedal I think I want, I try it out on the RP200 to see how I like it..it saves me a trip to a store just to try out something I may or may not like..

• Members

+1 for the recommendations on a multi-effects unit. There are a ton of great options that are inexpensive. It'll allow you to try a bunch of sounds that you'll never have access to with single pedals. Over time you'll find stuff that you really like and be able to better decide what single pedals make sense to own.

• Members