How Does Ebay Work?

amaleelake

• Members

Hi guys - I have never used ebay before and I don't want to end up paying more than I have to. When I bid my maximum bid and they say that they are going to bid on my behalf up to my maximum bid, that means that they are going to bid little by little for me? That is what it sounds like, but I want to make sure because I don't want to bid an outrageous amount and then have to pay it when I could have gotten it for a lot cheaper.

Also, can you place more than one bid or do you only get one shot at it?

• Members

Your first mistake is bidding before there's 20 seconds left in the auction. If you bid any sooner, all your doing is driving up the final price by giving other people a chance to outbid you. And they will...

Well I haven't bid yet.

Can other people see what you have bid?

• Members

seriously, if you don't know how it works.....don't use it.

join up, read ALL of the info....go onto the community forums, read the threads, ask some questions, make sure you know how it works before you buy anything otherwise you could create problems for yourself and other users. Buy a couple of really cheap things just so you get used to everything before you diving in headfirst into a transaction when you have no idea how it works.

to answer your question, if you bid $10 on something....then someone bids $5, ebay will automatically bid $6 for you and this will happen everytime there is another bid until you reach your maximum, then you will be outbid.

• Members

Here's how it works...

Seller sets the starting price, say $1.00

Bidder #1 comes along and bids $100.00. But the eBay system starts the thing at $1.00

Bidder #2 comes along and bids $50.00. He is immediately outbid by #1, and the price will show something like $51.00.

Bidder #3 comes along and bids $75.00. He is immediately outbid by Bidder #1, and the price shows as $76. Bidder #3 keeps increasing his bid by $5.00 increments until he is the high bidder.