OT: How do you clean you pc?

Kaux

• Members

Hi, i clean and repair pc's. I am sick of buying canned air and i was researching for options in internet. Wow! that a mess of information the internet can be. I see people telling you to use a paintbrush, other talking against it. Other saying an air compressor is the best, others sayin you whould avoid it!!! i even read a guy saying you should never use compressed air cans!

So how do you clean your pc?

• Members

Im also a computer engineer, and have seen some pretty filthy PCs. (I once found a mouldy jam sandwich inside) :eek:

We usually hoover out general dust build up in standard tower cases with a special brush attachment attached to a standard Dyson (with the pc turned off). When the CPU heatsink (underneath the fan) is badly clogged up with dust (the most common culprit for crashing, particullarly old P4 Prescott CPUs) , a stiffer brush is used to loosen the buildup, and sucked away with a hoover attachment held over the work area.

I dont really like using compressed air, as i dont like having particals of dead skin, nicotine crap etc etc being blasted into my immediate vicinity that i have to breath in.

:idea:

• Members

I dont really like using compressed air, as i dont like having particals of dead skin, nicotine crap etc etc being blasted into my immediate vicinity that i have to breath in.

:idea:

:thu::idea::thu:

I once found an english-spanish dictionary !!!

I dont understand how that stuff can get into someone's pc

• Members

:thu::idea::thu:

I dont understand how that stuff can get into someone's pc

Alot of PCs cases have a fan at the front drawing the outside air through the case, to be expelled out the back (clearing heat), usually via another fan. Thats why i hate working on smokers PCs.

BTX case form factor is a good design. (Doesnt seem to get so dusty)

• Members

The 2 arguments i have read against air complressors are: