Alesis Micron and others

• Members

Please don't hurt me for my not-knowingness...

Would the Alesis Micron be an okay synth to start out on? I have read alot of reviews, and most seem very positive. I'm looking for something with all of those sweet buzzsaw, fuzzy, analog sounds.

If not, are these synths good? I am a guitarist, so I am not so great with all of the menus and whatnot, but I think I can handle the knobs alright.

486964.jpg

387228.jpg

• Members

:facepalm:

Search MicroKorg for extensive discussions about its suitability for guitarists. We just had this discussion every day for years.

The SH-201 has a reputation for being a hard synth to edit deeply. I'm not sure that's a good starter synth.

• Members

Micron's great - I love mine. Some people find it a little fiddly to edit.

R3 seems pretty cool too, the programming capabilities aren't as deep as the Micron, but most people would probably find it easier to use.

SH201 is OK, easiest to use, a bit limited in the long run, but fine for starting out on. It's got more keys too, but that probably won't matter for you at this point.

Of the 3 listed, the Micron is the least expensive, and offers more in the long run to keep you busy.

• Members

Micron, R3, SH-201, They are all good - However, they do have some sort of menus as well knobs. If you really can't stand reading manuals, I'd suggest getting a used, truly one-function-per-knob synth like an older Roland Juno-60, Roland Juno-106, or Korg PolySix.

Also popular amongst guitarists embracing synths: Clavia Nord Lead.

• Members

Here's a couple of very important feature that guitarists usually miss:

The ability for a synth to act as an effect on their guitars.

The ability of a keyboard to sample, loop, and play their guitar as part of a track.

The ability to use and control backing tracks to let you jam with them.