Which Korg Synth?

louloomis

• Members

Hi. I would like to buy a relatively modern used Korg synth that has these properties:

1. Costs under $500.00 used.

2. Works well as a midi controller.

3. Does not necessarily have an onboard sequencer (I use PC software).

4. Has aftertouch.

5. Is essentially sample-based (a rompler, if my understanding is correct).

6. Has tons of great onboard sounds (and easily found sounds elsewhere). I don't need much "synthesizer" power.

Thanks so much. I'm new to keyboards and could really use some guidance.

Regards,

LouLoomis

• Members

Personally, I'd go for a Trinity. They're cheap and sound great. You only get 32 voice polyphony, though - and a choice as to whether or not you'd consider a synth from the nineties 'relatively modern.' :)

Also, the big touch screen on them is nice, but I remember it as being a little slow. Bottom line, though: It's Korg's best sounding rompler - in my opinion.

• Members

Personally, I'd go for a Trinity. They're cheap and sound great. You only get 32 voice polyphony, though - and a choice as to whether or not you'd consider a synth from the nineties 'relatively modern.'
:)

Also, the big touch screen on them is nice, but I remember it as being a little slow. Bottom line, though: It's Korg's best sounding rompler - in my opinion.

Spot on.

I think this board would be perfect, but if you want to use it as a master keyboard, its worth hunting out a 76 key version, which i think you might 'just' scrape with your budget

spd_20080419145411_b.JPG

• Members

I'm new to keyboards and could really use some guidance.

Why do you need a Korg keyboard specifically?

2. Works well as a midi controller.

No workstation does; all those top of the line keyboards still have relatively few sliders and knobs (it took until the M3, Motif XS and Fantom G to change that).

3. Does not necessarily have an onboard sequencer (I use PC software).