Questions About Classic 30

thomasmiranda

• Members

Well first of I found a NEW classic 30 for $400, Is that a good price (I think it is but what do you guys think)

Also, I have heard that on some tube amps you can remove half the power tubes and cut the wattage In half to get the amp to break Up at lower volumes, is this possible with the Classic 30?

what would be a good speaker to put in it? ( I play mainly classic rock and a little Joe Satriani )

What are good tubes for it and how much do decent tubes cost? ( just a ballpark figure )

Do I have to re-bias when I change tubes?

sorry if these are dumb questions but Im a newb so feel free to call me an idiot

any thoughts, suggesstions about this amp are also welcome as its a big purchase for me and I plan on using it for at least the next 3-4 years

thanks guys

• Members

Originally posted by thomasmiranda

Well first of I found a NEW classic 30 for $400, Is that a good price (I think it is but what do you guys think)

Also, I have heard that on some tube amps you can remove half the power tubes and cut the wattage In half to get the amp to break Up at lower volumes, is this possible with the Classic 30?

what would be a good speaker to put in it? ( I play mainly classic rock and a little Joe Satriani )

What are good tubes for it and how much do decent tubes cost? ( just a ballpark figure )

Do I have to re-bias when I change tubes?

sorry if these are dumb questions but Im a newb so feel free to call me an idiot

any thoughts, suggesstions about this amp are also welcome as its a big purchase for me and I plan on using it for at least the next 3-4 years

thanks guys

Yes, that is a good price.

No, you can't remove two tubes in a Classic 30. The output tubes are wired in series.

I would try the speaker and tubes out first before changing them. You may like them.