Can someone recommend me a keyboard method?

mcmurray

• Members

G'day guys.

I played piano quite a bit when I was younger, can read music easily. I'm looking for a decent keyboard method book. My goal is to master the keyboard enough to make backing tracks for electric guitar instrumental tunes. Need help mainly with harmony and chord voicing etc for modern instrumental music.

Any recommendations? Not looking for something too simple, and I don't want something that's Jazz oriented.

Cheers.

• Members

^ Is that a joke?

Songs include:Amazing Grace; I'd Like to Teach the World to Sing; Merrily We Roll Along; Ode to Joy; Yankee Doodle; Row, Row, Row, Your Boat; Clock Tower Bells; Catch a Falling Star; Russian Sailor Dance; Lean on Me; Chant of the Monk; Chant of the Mo

NOT what I was after. Maybe I should have clarified, I'm not a beginner to piano.

Anyone had any experience with these?

http://www.amazon.com/Progressive-Rock-Keyboard-Leonard-Style/dp/1423409213/ref=cm_cr_pr_sims_t

or

http://www.amazon.com/Rock-Keyboard-Complete-Guide-Leonard/dp/0634039814/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top

• Members

G'day guys.

I played piano quite a bit when I was younger, can read music easily. I'm looking for a decent keyboard method book. My goal is to master the keyboard enough to make backing tracks for electric guitar instrumental tunes. Need help mainly with harmony and chord voicing etc for modern instrumental music.

Any recommendations? Not looking for something too simple, and I don't want something that's Jazz oriented.

Cheers.

If you are looking for chord progression in modern instrumental music, Jazz components are must-go-through, unless you want to play just with triads.

How about this one? The first few pages look good to me.

http://www.amazon.com/Chords-Progressions-Jazz-Popular-Keyboard/dp/0825622867/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1265609879&sr=8-1#noop

• Members