Korg M50 Brass Sounds make me Puke

DukeOfBoom

• Members

So I recently purchased the M50, and it's very cool. I'm a guitarist and purchased this as my first synth to add more texture and elements into my songs.

I like the M50 sounds for the most part, except for the BRASS. Every single brass sound is TERRIBLE. I don't even know why they bothered to include them

That sucks b/c I've been getting into a lot of the neo-motown stuff too

:sadpanda:

• Members

I have yet to hear good brass ensemble from any synth. Even sampled ensembles start to sound static because it's the same each and every time.

Maybe they should just replace those patches with puke ensembles.

I actually have one I created on my computer with the bottom half of the keyboard female orgasms and the top-half are wild animal sounds. it's the best. i plan to hook up my MIDI guitar one day to do a rock star solo on stage.

the only decent horns i've heard, but have not played with are the chris heins soft-synth ones. they cost a fortune tho. the arturia BRASS soft synth sucks.

• Members

Excluding the said M50 Brass of which you speak, I think whether horns sound realistic or not, comes down to how they are being played.

It is somewhat comparable to your average keyboard player trying to play guitar on a keyboard, even with the best samples, it never quite sounds convincing(of course there are exceptions).

I have some horns on my Ensoniq VFX-SD that I think sound quite good, and I've lived in Motown my whole life(less military service).:)

• Members

This : :thu:

I think whether horns sound realistic or not, comes down to how they are being played.

+ Wrong use of mono/channel aftertouch for more than one simultaneous note of anything orchestral. Too bad they don't make poly-AT keyboard controllers anymore. :cool:

• Members

Excluding the said M50 Brass of which you speak, I think whether horns sound realistic or not, comes down to how they are being played.

+1

EXACTLY.