Finally buying new recording gear.

paranormal5150

• Members

So, I'm about to buy a Mac and some recording gear. On my pc ive been using the same program since like 6 years ago. its really old. I'm looking at cubase. I don't know much about this stuff is why im asking. I'll be running an electronic drumkit and micing my guitar cab and running the bass straight in. Vocals with a condenser mic which im about to get another one. I also know nothing about a mac either. I just always wanted one and wanted to try something different so I don't know what program would be best with the mac. Im still putting back checks and will be gone to the police academy for 3 months and won't really have many bills while im sent there so when I come back I will have all the money for this. I get paid for 40 hours a week while im there. And anyone whos computer savy maybe could help me choose which mac I want. I kindof like the mac mini since I could use my pc monitor.

• Members

if you want a desktop mac then buy the mini unless you want to shell out the $$ for one of the towers.

Ive recorded using the mac pro, macbook pro, and macbook.

I didnt really experience much of a difference

Macs are great for recording though! Although you may want to hold off on buying the recording software.

Just mess around with garageband for a while and if you like it then id suggest getting logic express just because that way you can ease your way into the new program instead of buying cubase and having to learn everything.

Plus, if you start some projects in garageband and then later buy logic, you can just open up the GB files in logic

• Members