Same chords troughout the whole song

bluesfella

• Members

Yo, just a question. I'm pretty new to songwriting. I've been playing guitar for around 8 years now, and started playing around with songwriting two years ago or so. I've written a whole bunch of riffs and i got around 5 almost complete songs now.

I've written this tune. Troughout the whole song there are the same chords used all the time. Namely: F G A# C and D. So it's in basic G. There are 2 guitars and 1 bass in this tab i made in GP5. Our singer made some great, dynamic vocal lines over it, and our drummer thought of some cool fills for the song. We all think it sounds pretty rad, but do you also think so? I'm afraid people may think it's boring because of the same ascending line over and over.

This is how the song is built up:

verse - mini solo - chorus - verse - mini solo - chorus - break - final guitar solo

Here is a midi file of the entire song, without vocal lines and drums unfortunately:

http://rapidshare.com/files/23424050/Charlie.mid.html

Tell me what you think and gimme some constructive comments please.

• Members

I dont see a problem with running the same progression thoughout the song .... a bazillion songs are like that and have made a bazillion dollars doing it. Sometimes i think people tend to screw up a song trying to make it too complex with the chord progression. Some of the greatest songs in the world have very simple chord progressions.

Lyrics and melody are what make great songs ... the progression is just the backbone, not the body and soul. rat

• Members

Lyrics and melody are what make great songs ... the progression is just the backbone, not the body and soul. rat

AMEN!! there is nothing wrong with that at all, hell i do this alot actually. i mean look at all 12 bar blues songs! the same thing for 4 mins and i find everysong individual and cool in its own way

• Members

What do you guys think about the midi dump of the tab by the way?