Blackheart "Little Giant" half-stack or Marshall Zakk Wylde MicroStack?

punkicidal

• Members

Before I start, I just want to mention that I am not new to these boards. I went under the name Zero_Drop some years ago. I have been playing bass for about 12 years now, and taught myself guitar. As my skills are progressing, I'm outgrowing my Silvertone practice amp, and need something that's flat out better. Now before you think o O (use the search function), I already have. I'm familiar with web forums as well.

I'm in the market for a new amp. These 2 are decently priced around $300 CDN, which is in my budget. I play mostly punk/ska and metal.

Now, obviously the Marshall is solid-state, but at 15 watts, it pumps pretty loud, and I have had a chance to use it.

Now, the reason I'm debating this amp over the Black Heart is that the BH is an all-tube amp, and I really want a tube amp. I love the warm, sparkly sound of a tube amp's clean channel, especially when I'm playing ska.

The BH rocks in at 5 watts (and I'm not concerned about it, as I know tube amp wattage is different vs. solid-state). I've heard how this amp sounds via YouTube videos and I love the sound of it. However, I am a bit confused about this amp. From what I've read/seen, it's a single channel amp. Now, in terms of a clean/OD sound; has any one used this amp? I'm picking up a Dano Fab-Metal next week, it sounds perfect for what I play, so I'll be running that for distortion.

In terms of the BH's overdrive, can some one who has this amp explain to me how this works with the clean/overdrive on this amp, and as well if possible, post a sound clip of the heaviest you can make this amp sound?

I'm leaning more towards the Blackheart, but I've heard the OD channel on the Marshall and it sounds great too..

Ahh.. Decisions, decisions...

• Members