How much better is a 1960AX cab over a 1960A?

uz3r

• Members

Do the vintage speakers really make a difference over your standard celestions? Do you think the greenbacks will go well with a 5150 and fatten it up? Or is it too much gain to notice?

I have the chance to buy a 1960AX at a pretty decent price. BUT I cant say that Im not happy with my standard 1960A cab - just pondering if I should fork out the cash or not.

Thoughts?

:wave:

• Members

I love my 1960AX, its one of my favourite pieces of gear. I used to use a 1960A, infact i have 2 1960A's but they are back up to the 1960AX.

Im not really good with description of speakers but in my experience ive found that the greenbacks have a real sweet sound. For Metal, it may tame some fizz from the 5150, i dont know if it will fatten it up. The 1960AX doesnt have as much loose low end as the 1960A but it stays tight and its more articulate. I really like the definition in palm muting with greenbacks.

My best description is: When i used my 1960A with g12t-75s i found i was competing more with the bass and bass freqs. With the 1960AX i sit in the mix much better and im much happier overall with my sound.

Hope that helps.

• Members

Same as with any other amp into those speakers I'd imagine - the greenbacks will sound more restrained and linear the 75s will sound more open and unpredictable. Both of those can look like insults or compliments depending on your preference.