Blackstar HT-5 cabinet options.. Please help!

dimner

• Members

Okay, I know the obvious choice is the blackstar cab, but i would like to look into other options as well.

I am a complete cabinet rookie, so I'm putty in your hands.

What i am looking for is something that will do good blues, classic rock and occasional metal. I don't care if it's 1x12, 2x12, 2x10. I do not want a 4x10.

I will be using a MIM strat and a Michael Kelly Patriot Custom.

This is just for bedroom/den playing and recording. I can crank it in the day, but mostly it will be a medium volume.

Also, I am not adverse to used gear and swapping speakers. Hopefully that is enough info to get some suggestions, at least this is what is usually asked in other posts I have read.

Thanks and in advanced, you guys are spot on with suggestions.

• Members

I was curious as well. If I get the Blackstar HT-5 head I would ask this same question. I am looking at 1/12 cabs. So far I came across the Blackheart and Valve jr 12" cabs. affordable and would probably throw in a Celestion or Weber later. MF has them both.

• Members

I own a HT-5 and play through two 1x12 Blackstar cabs. It's OK, soundwise, if you use it for home practice or maybe band practice. I occasionally run it through my Bogner 4x12.. that's a different world. Sounds great! I ran it through a Engl 2x12 (V30 speakers) cab, which was also very good.

IMO, a 2x12 would be best for this amp. I'd go for V30 speakers, but that's just my taste. Buy a decent cab, though.. I'm thinking Orange or Engl on a medium budget. Bogner or Diezel are nice, but expensive..

• Members

tried one at the dc ampfest- honestly, it sounded good through everything i tried it through. a 412 fulla blackbacks, a mesa thiele with a cl80, through an open back with an emi gb128...

to be honest-- i didn't find it super adjustable with it's eq in any particular direction- so season to taste-- but it really does sound good any way you use the damn thing!

• Members