Mesa Boogie Caliber 22

sickman

• Members

Anyone have any experience with this amp? I've been using a Mesa Boogie MKIIB for the last 10 years as my main amp. I love the sound the Boogie gets me, but the amp is heavy and louder than I ever need. I'm definitely not looking to get rid of it, but I'd be curious to add a 20 watt Boogie if I can milk the same sounds out of it as the MKIIB. Hell, 20 watts is probably louder than I will ever need... but the amp has got to be lighter and I should be able to push it harder at a lower volume. :idea:

• Members

that's what i play. you can definitely get close to the mark sounds with it, but it's probably a little bit spongier. you can DEFINITELY push it hard at lower volumes than a mark...

i basically use mine as a single channel amp on the clean channel.. gain channels nice if it's yer bag, but pretty excessive for anything other than 'high gain' tones.. which i kinda don't use..

• Members

I thought these amps were made in the mid 80s? What kind of stuff do you play? I dig 70s guitar tones and some modern stuff (Govt Mule, Derek Trucks, Black Crowes). This amp would be used for the cover band I play with (classic rock stuff, some blues, some newer stuff).

For reference, I am talking about one of these... http://shop.ebay.com/mesa%20boogie%2022?_from=R40&_trksid=m38&_nkw=mesa+boogie+22&_naf=1

• Members

well.. i play noisy punk rock and throw the thing on top of a thiele cab.

it's been a pretty reliable beast, sounds good, and mine was built in 91. i've been using the same preamp circuit since about 1994.. and i've had probably a week off of using my previous amp-- a .50 cal-- for repairs. the .22 does eat some 84s.. but luckily they're cheap.