Noob submission.

notlimah

• Members

Hi all,

I'm very new to songwriting. Ive messed around a little but don't have much of it recorded yet. Please give some feedback on these lyrics.

Thanks,

jeff

Verse 1:

Two people Too young

The last thing on their mind

Two decisions So tough

Answers so hard to find

Verse 2:

One gone One alone

One more on the way

Couldn

• Members

Thanks for the feedback. I agree, I did struggle with the wording in V3.

I'm trying to learn how to write songs, and I at least need to write something down to get started and then tweak from their. So I don't mind re-writing at all.

The big challenge is, my current band plays bluegrass/alt country but I had Foo Fighters style in my head when I came up with this. How do I blend that together?

Thanks,

jeff

• Members

It's a nice bit of story telling, the revelatory final verse... I'd been focused on the parents and didn't see the flash forward coming. Nice touch -- and, talking about style -- these purposeful, intelligent lyrics are probably more in keeping with the conventions of country and bluegrass than they are those of grunge/post-grunge. (Now, whether or not these would work in that musical framework, I dunno. I find myself all but incapable of listening to much of the rock of the last two decades. Been there. Done that. Time to move on. Oddly -- as a post-post-post punker, I have no such problems with bluegrass or trad country. :D )

Anyway, that's the storytelling. While it's hard to gauge flow (as our brothers of the street would have it) from the printed page, I could imagine a couple of possible rough spots in lyric cadence. Still, people often have a way of making things work in practice. Like you, I have concerns about the third verse.

The big challenge is, my current band plays bluegrass/alt country but I had Foo Fighters style in my head when I came up with this. How do I blend that together?

Banjo. And maybe some nice mandolin.