my new macbook arrived today... bootcamp or parallels for running windows?

bluesboy

• Members

I didnt even open the box yet, but im already curious about running windows on it!!!

The reason is some of the software that I use for work is windows only, and I dont want to always have to be switching between two computers.

So do any of you run windows on it too? Do you use bootcamp, or do you use something like VMware fusion or parallels? The virtual programs woould be more convenient for me, but im just what others recommend as im new to this

• Members

I think Parallels sucks. It's slow. Bootcamp runs way faster. Sure, rebooting is a pain but I only use it once in a blue moon to update my Blackberry. I wish Verizon carried iPhones.

This.

But what's the real point of install Windows on a Mac?

Just get a cheap PC laptop and run it on that.

• Members

I have my PC laptop which is starting to crap out and probably wont last much longer, and i have my wifes PC laptop which i can use. However, its inconvenient to lug two laptops around. Ill see how much of a pain it becomes before i do anything

• Members

This.

But what's the real point of install Windows on a Mac?

Just get a cheap PC laptop and run it on that.

for my job, I have to have IE6, IE7, and IE8 to test on and support so I have to have at least 3 VM's available at any time. VMFusion works well, way, way better than parallels.

• Members

i had bootcamp on my macbook but just upgraded to a 500g HD and can't be bothered putting windows back on it. It just slowed the bootup of the thing and I hardly used windows anyway

However it did work fine using bootcamp

I just upgraded my HD also. I was using XP via VMWare Fusion and then loaded Windows 7 to try it out. I also had a version or Linux on there for a bit. So far I haven't felt the need to reinstall Windoze just for the few "apps" that are windows only. But VMWare never gave me any real issues.

• Members