WOT: Intel VS AMD

NixerX

• Members

Looking into building a mother-{censored}er of a DAW and im getting hung up on the CPU's

Ive been using the Intel stuff since the dual core thing .so im a bit out of the loop as far as how the newer AMD chips compare.

• Members

if you look at the cost difference between the top of the line AMD stuff vs the top of the line intel stuff, the performance difference doesn't justify it IMO.

if you're on a budget, using the i7 will hamstring the rest of the system. if money is no object, and you're going to use the best of the best regardless of price, by all means go with the i7 system.

• Members

I'm out of the loop, too. I don't get into it until I'm ready for a new system. I've been using an E6600 for 3 1/2 years now, and I am still happy with it. My motherboard can handle up to a Q9650, so I'll probably just upgrade to that when the price is dirt.

• Members

Until you get into the tippy-top performance and cost-wise, the newer AMD offerings beat out Intel on the price-performance measure, and any difference in performance between them is really marginal at that level, being more about the numbers and not anything you will experience in usage. The next machine I will build will probably be on something like the Asus Crosshair III with a Phenom II X4 965.

• Members

Once they switched to multi-core processing, Intel overtook AMD in a very big way.

At the moment, Intel is the clear winner. They pound the {censored} out of comparably "clocked" AMD processors.

Intel ATM. And its been intel ever since core2duo.

This.

And yes, "price-performance". Numbers don't mean a damned thing when compared to in real life testing. And in real life, the Intel stuff kills right now. And this is from a guy who only used AMD up until Core 2 duo.

• Members
Once they switched to multi-core processing, Intel overtook AMD in a very big way.