O.T.- Readers, Lit and other academia, PLEASE come in and check this clip! (Draelyc!)

Stevetemp

• Members

I'm a wanna-be writer, and I have several things lying around unfinished...so I thought I;d start ANOTHER unfinished story. icon_lol.gif

Had a dream last night, little big foggy, half awake. I thought I'd put some of it to paper/screen. Would like you to read. I have taken some liberties...for example I pretty sure I have mixed tenses, incomplete sentences, artistic liberty. But I'm just trying to get a feel for a story, and my MO. This would probably be a short story, maybe even a period piece. Main character is somewhat a civilized gentleman, yet flawed and certainly obsessed. What do you think of this excerpt? Interest piqued?

Excerpt from "A Legend Lives"

I froze in my tracks. The sound I

• Replies 62
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members
Quote Originally Posted by Stevetemp View Post
I'm a wanna-be writer, and I have several things lying around unfinished...so I thought I;d start ANOTHER unfinished story. icon_lol.gif

Had a dream last night, little big foggy, half awake. I thought I'd put some of it to paper/screen. Would like you to read. I have taken some liberties...for example I pretty sure I have mixed tenses, incomplete sentences, artistic liberty. But I'm just trying to get a feel for a story, and my MO. This would probably be a short story, maybe even a period piece. Main character is somewhat a civilized gentleman, yet flawed and certainly obsessed. What do you think of this excerpt? Interest piqued?
To be perfectly honest, it needs a lot of work. First, the grammar is horrible. You have too many fragments, run-ons, and bad punctuation. Second, I don't think you did a very good job of describing the setting. Third, it's not actually compelling or interesting. I did not want to read more.

• Members
Quote Originally Posted by JonVengeance View Post