Finishing Organ Amp Conversion

David E H

• Members

Hey guys, I've had a lot of questions lately about a lot of projects, so I apologize if I've been flooding the forum.

I finally finished wiring up a clone of a famous amp based on a Hammond AO-35 chassis. I've never built an amp before, and I'm too cheap to buy a kit right now, so I invested my time into this. It's a little bit above me, but oh well.

I went with point to point wiring on this thing, which may have cause more bad than good. The chassis is very small, but I ended up fitting everything in. I finished wiring everything up and triple checked that it was all correct.

Now, when I turn it on, everything powers up fine. (However, I forgot to put my variac to use the first time...:facepalm:) The tubes light naturally and everything appears to run as it should.

When standby is switched, and everything is engaged it all works, however I'm getting some nasty tone and oscillation. I understand that my rat's nest wiring is to account for a lot of the oscillation, but I'm also getting really premature, farty, distortion. There's also a lot of "bumble bee buzzing" with aggressive playing. I'm sort of having a feeling that there could be more to blame than just the wiring....perhaps there's a cold joint or the schematic is wrong? Or maybe I need to double check the resistor values themselves....

The speaker is functioning properly.....

Hmmm...any ideas?

DSC00579.jpg

DSC00577.jpg

DSC00575.jpg

DSC00578.jpg

carmenghiaschematicfv5.jpg

• Members

Congrats on your amp build! I read your issue, and though I'm also working on my own first build (thus a beginner), did you forget to ground the input? It looks as though the yellow wire is still floating.. or is that an optical illusion?

I knew someone was going to mention that. Yeah, it's floating.....it's not the problem though. It was connected to the star ground at one point, but I removed it just to see how it was sound if it was just grounded by the chassis.