Custom Strat Project - Neck & Pocket Question....????

21rush12

• Members

Good Evening:)

I just won a Fender Strat body on eBay and have a few questions before purchasing a neck, I've never built a guitar up before so just want to make sure I'm doing everything right, the body can be seen in the link before:

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=230400898030&ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT

As the listing shows the neck pocket is a 2 3/16" (56mm) wide and I've found out its approx 16.5-17mm deep. I want to put a 22 fret neck on this body and wandered what I should be looking for as the 22 fret necks seem to have the fretboard over run the end of the neck, is this the usual case? I s this so that you still get the same scale length between the nut and saddles for both 21 & 22 fret necks...?

Any help would be much appreciated and if anyone knows of anyone in the UK who's a good supplier of decent necks that would do the job...:thu:

Cheers

Johnny

• Members

Well I have some strat necks that run with the overhang and I have some that dont. Its important which the guitar will need because you only have so much adjustment lengthe on the saddels once the bridge is properly mounted.

If I were to guess you might want the overhung fret which is pretty much a fender neck, but this will depend on who you get the neck from. Imports like Squiers use a neck that isnt overhung on some of their strats, but to be idealy correct it would be easier to have the bridge in place first then compare the measurements to the pocket edge on the two instruments.

If you want, I can measure the distance on the two types so you can have a ballpark idea between the two. If you buy the bridge first and just set it in the pocket unmounted then measure, you'll know if the placement will work with either neck.

• Members

Hiya WRGKMC

That would be really useful thanks.:thu: Is the measurement from the actual point where the strings rest on the saddle to the pocket edge....?