Bridge questions

WolfBoy

• Members

Hi,

I'm relatively new at guitars in general so I apologize if this is a stupid question.... So I've found a new, nice budget acoustic (Samick OM-7) that I like and am pretty close to pulling the trigger on it. But I had noticed that the bridge pins on several of these guitars were quite high. I asked the salesman about it and he simply pushed them back in, saying that they might have just lifted due to pressure. So, first question, is this indicative of anything else? Or maybe the guy that set them up just didn't push 'em down all the way?

Second, I also noticed that the strings are biting into the bridge as they break toward the saddle. This is not even happening on my super-cheap, plastic-backed acoustic. So, again, is this a problem as well? Or also a setup issue?

Any thoughts? I like this guitar a lot but don't want to pick it up if it's already got issues :confused: Thanks in advance for any advice!

Steve

• Members

Hi Steve and welcome

Two good questions - here are a couple of quick answers. First, bridge pins are tapered and have a slot in the side for the string to come out. Properly done, the bridge will also be tapered and the pin will fit snugly in the hole. It does not have to be pushed down hard to be seated, it is the wedging action of the ball of the string that holds the pin in.

It is not uncommon for pins to stand a little tall in the hole and a good repair person can lightly ream the hole (with the correct reamer) to make it fit better. I consider this part of a good setup, but it needs to be done carefully - if the hole is made too big the pin will be loose. Note that new Martins ship from the factory with their pins standing a little tall so your guitar is in good company.

It is possible that the balls of the string did pull the pins up as the guitar was tuned, I don't think this is a problem unless the salesman really crammed them into their holes.