Can anyone recommend me some bluegrass?

Davepch

• Members

hi all

i recently answered an add for bluegrass players (begginers welcome, that's where i come in:)) and wondered if anyone out there could point me in the right direction, as far as good quality bluegrass music to listen to? any help appreciated

dave

• Members

you could start with bill monroe. i'm no expert but some of the artists i like include jimmy martin, flatt & scruggs, stanley bros., del mccoury, old & in the way. that's just scratching the surface. then there's so-called newgrass, which would include david grisman, sam bush, bela fleck. i'm sure others here could list lots more.

• Members

Try 'Rounder Bluegrass Guitar' (Rounder CD 11576) for a sampler of many different players and styles:
Clarence White
Tony Rice
David Grier
Wyatt Rice
Norman Blake
Doc Watson
Russ Barenberg
Dan Crary
Mark O'Connor
Scott Nygaard
Peter McLaughlin, etc.

It's a good intro to bluegrass.

• Members

Bill Monroe is an acquired taste. He is the originator of Bluegrass music, but to my ears, his music sounds best when others are performing it.

Check these out

Emmy Lou Harris and the Nash Ramblers: Live at the Ryman

Ricky Skaggs: Bluegrass Rules!

Rhonda Vincent and the Rage: Ragin Live

Peter Rowan and the Nashville Bluegrass Band: New Moon Rising

Old and in the Way (Jerry Garcia on banjo!, Peter Rowan, Dave Grisman)

Those are incredible CDs...

• Members

Bill Monroe is an acquired taste. He is the originator of Bluegrass music, but to my ears, his music sounds best when others are performing it.

Check these out

Emmy Lou Harris and the Nash Ramblers: Live at the Ryman

Ricky Skaggs: Bluegrass Rules!

Rhonda Vincent and the Rage: Ragin Live

Peter Rowan and the Nashville Bluegrass Band: New Moon Rising

Old and in the Way (Jerry Garcia on banjo!, Peter Rowan, Dave Grisman)

Those are incredible CDs...

I agree with you about Monroe; he's pretty much for the purist!

• Members