A/V question regarding the upcoming HCAG open mic

kwakatak

• Members

My wife took our older kid to the store and I put the baby down for his nap so I have a little time to prepare my hodge-podge A/V setup, but I'm having a little trouble. Here's what I'm trying to do:

Audio setup:

Inputs: K&K Pure Western for guitar signal, Shure PG57 mic for the vocal signal.

Preamp: Pure XLR Preamp

Mixer: Behringer Eurorack UB1202 12 track mixer which runs into the 1/8" line in jack on my Dell Inspiron 6400 Laptop (via a homemade 1/4" to 1/8" cable that's about 3' in length.)

Video input:

Canon Powershot A560 digital camera which runs into the laptop via a USB connection.

The audio has worked for me well in the past, though I've never had two inputs going live into the mixer. I know from experience that this is not the way to get two independent tracks into my audio editing software, which in this case is going to be Audacity.

OTOH, I've never done video capture before. I'm wondering if it can be done with the Canon digicam? If not I've got my FIL's old videocamera and one of those A/V to USB adaptor buses - though I'd have to tear the house apart to find it. Which one of these sources would be better though and would Windows Movie Maker be up to the task of capturing the video and audio in realtime?

BTW - I'm running Windoze XP Home SP2 with 1GB of RAM. I can't recall what kind of A/V hardware I'm running but I doubt it can handle much. I just want to real-time capture a basic video with a second audio source - the camera has a tiny microphone with no gain control whatsoever.

If not I'll just upload each channel separately and edit them together in Movie Maker.

• Members