Fingerpicking nylon strings

DarkHorseJ27

• Members

I'm considering getting a nylon string because I don't have one and I like their sound. However, I have an interesting problem. When using a thin pick (.5 mm) the guitar will sound good as long as it is a good guitar. It will also sound good if I am using my thumb, whether it is the bass or treble strings. However, when I use the rest of my fingers it sounds like guitar is strung with fishing wire.

I am used to steel strings, and the only time I've played nylon string guitars were at guitar stores. Do I need to use a lighter touch?

• Members

Well, that's about all you can do short of different string and guitar make/model experimentation. Nylon guitars just don't kick-it like steel strings do. I have both and when I started playing the classical I was pretty underwhelmed with the sound. But, that's the sound. Mine has onboard electronics (improvise and overcome - hoorah) and will compete evenly with a steel string with onboards. But, unplugged it's a whole lesser animal.

It's an acquired taste.

• Members

I'm considering getting a nylon string because I don't have one and I like their sound. However, I have an interesting problem. When using a thin pick (.5 mm) the guitar will sound good as long as it is a good guitar. It will also sound good if I am using my thumb, whether it is the bass or treble strings. However, when I use the rest of my fingers it sounds like guitar is strung with fishing wire.

I am used to steel strings, and the only time I've played nylon string guitars were at guitar stores. Do I need to use a lighter touch?