Humidity - A few questions

zookroo1

• Members

Hi everyone, I'm pretty new to the world of acoustic guitars (in fact I'm still looking for the right one...). This forum is a great place full of information with a lot of knowledgeable people. I never thought much about humidity before I started looking into nice acoustic guitars. I certainly want to keep it in the best condition as possible once I find a keeper. Here are a few questions I had:

-I live in Florida (very humid). Is that a good thing or can you have too much humidity?

-Are guitars that have laminate sides and back affected the same as an all wood guitar?

-If I was to find a guitar I wanted to order online, say from out west, would I have to be concerned about the guitar during the shipping process?

-I seems that 40-50% humidity is the recommended range. Is that about right? I really don't know what the percentage is inside the house, I'd have to check on that.

-Anything else related to the subject that would be helping in taking care of a nice guitar?

Thanks so much for for the info!

• Members

-I live in Florida (very humid). Is that a good thing or can you have too much humidity?

Yes an over humidified guitar is just as bad as an underhudified guitar.

-Are guitars that have laminate sides and back affected the same as an all wood guitar?

laminate back and sides make a guitar MUCH more durable. They don't help the tone much but they do provide a lot of protection. Laminate woods do not swell or shrink nearly as much as a solid wood.

-If I was to find a guitar I wanted to order online, say from out west, would I have to be concerned about the guitar during the shipping process?

Usually shipping is fine. I recommend buying locally (gotta fight the man) but I haven't heard of any shipping horror stories.

-I seems that 40-50% humidity is the recommended range. Is that about right? I really don't know what the percentage is inside the house, I'd have to check on that.